top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOlivia Eisenhauer

pov: El Primer Día del Programa

Updated: Jan 29, 2020

Monday, January 27 // lunes, 27 de enero


ENGLISH

After a busy day of attempted self-guided touring, today was refreshing because I had set plans. I pressed snooze on my alarm a few times and then walked to my school, SAIIE, to pick up my materials, which included a schedule and lots of information. Regla, a SAIIE staff member, was very welcoming and even spoke in English to ensure that I would understand her instructions and explanations.


I lugged my massive luggage out of my hotel and got a cab to my host mom's apartment. Rosario greeted me happily with her brisk yet gentle Spanish and showed me around the apartment. I have one roommate that is also in my program at SAIIE and we share a room. There is also an art history student from Korea staying in the apartment but, to my understanding, she is rarely home and is very independent.


Rosario has two daughters: one living in Sevilla with her husband and four kids, and one living in Los Angeles. I told her about my siblings and showed her where Wisconsin is on the map of the United States. We had lunch, which is the most important meal of the day in Spain; we ate patatas guisadas (potato stew).


My roommate arrived a few hours later and we got to know her. She is also from Wisconsin and studies Spanish and technical writing at Whitewater. She is really, really nice and great at Spanish!


At 5pm we walked to SAIIE for a city tour with the program staff and students. The SAIIE staff that I met were very kind and spirited, which makes me excited to have chosen the program. I only had time to talk to a few students but most are from Wisconsin and North Carolina so far. While it was supposed to be a walking tour, it was more of a walking chat because I talked most of the time as we walked around.


I realized the Royal Palace was right across from the Cathedral I was at yesterday, which is still used by the king and queen! I will definitely have to go back and check it out. There are so many places on my list, including the Jewish quarter, which is the oldest neighborhood in the city and dates back to when the king separated neighborhoods based on religion.


After the tour, my roommate and I decided to stop at a café because there are so many cute restaurants and hangouts near our apartment. My chai tea combined with great conversation warmed my heart and soul. I channeled my mom and asked some locals in the café what the tipping custom was, and they were very kind and informed me that tipping wait staff is not customary, but if they are especially nice, then 7-10% is normal. I was thankful for their kindness.


Now, I am full with love for the city and the experiences of today, as well as a vegetable soup, empanadas, and chocolate custard dessert from dinner. My host mom is not only a fabulous cook, but she takes dance classes each day - today was salsa and bachata! I am hoping to bring back some classy (or spicy??) ballroom to Wisconsin.


Tomorrow is a day full of orientation. Wish me luck.

 


33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page